Using Facebook to Generate Traffic to Your Store and Give Additional Value to Your Customers
(Photoconia, August 19, 2009) Printroom will now allow photographers to sell a print or image and give the customer a free low-resolution version of the image for the customer's Facebook page. Once the Facebook sharing is enabled, a Facebook link will appear on the lower left of your flash storefronts and Event Websites. These links will allow you to share your scrolling slide-show portfolio images with your customer's Facebook account. These images link back to your storefront or Event Website. Also, all the images sold from your store will have a Facebook link in the detailed receipt page. Again, these images will link back to your gallery when someone clicks on the image(s) in your customer's Facebook page. Your visitor will see an expanded thumbnail of that purchased image with your price list to the right.
This feature is limited to paid accounts and can be set when the photographer is logged into his online account and clicks "Global Defaults," then "View & Print Options."
FAQ: Frequently Asked Questions
Q: What is this new feature attempting to do?
A: Printroom is attempting to help you take advantage of the popularity of social media, in this case, Facebook, to drive more traffic to your online store.
Q: Does it cost me or my customer anything?
A: No. Printroom is offering the option to provide Facebook-ready images to any Pro or Premium account. This feature is not available to Classic members.
Q: Can I charge my customers for this service?
A: No. If you opt to allow this feature, your customer gets the thumbnail as an additional benefit of ordering from you.
Q: Can my customers use the Facebook thumbnail to make their own print?
A: No. The thumbnail is no larger than 120x120 pixels-- too small in resolution for even a wallet-sized print.
Q: Do I need to do anything after I enable the Facebook feature (in Global Defaults/View & Print Options)?
No. Other than click on the "Update" button to save your settings, there is nothing you need to do after you endable the Facebook feature. Printroom will put a Facebook link on the bottom of your flash storefront and event websites (if you use them) that will allow someone to capture a scrolling image for their Facebook account. These images are linked back to your storefront or event website--depending on the origin of the image. Also, your customers will get Facebook links in the receipt Printroom sends them below the thumbnail of their images they buy from you. (See illustration above) These links will bring a thumbnail of their purchased image automatically into their Facebook account. When someone clicks on these images, they are brought back into your gallery and one will see an expanded thumbnail of the same image (with your prices to the right).
Q: Is there any reason I might not want to enable this Facebook feature?
A: Possibly. If you are already selling low-resolution files to your customers that they can use for Facebook, this feature might compete with your sales effort.
Q: Is there any way to tell if someone is coming to my site from this Facebook feature?
A: Yes, if you have a enabled an analytic tool. (Premium Printroom members can add Google Analytics to their site)
Q: Where can I find more information on this feature on Printroom?